Learning from my internship

This semester I have a great internship that gives me insight into the profession I would love to be in when I am older. They have entrusted in me a lot of responsibility which is great but I never really knew about real deadlines until this internship.

For school the deadline is the due date and thats it. For internships and the real world projects have to be done before the due date and work is not getting graded to be fixed. The deadline means there are no second chances. I found this out the hard way when I was trying to get the mailing list in order for the due date. I did finish it but I did not double check for issues because in my head the work was done. Thankfully, my supervisor understands that I am a intern and helped me learn from my mistake and also fix the mistakes.

This taught me a great life lesson that I will remember as I am getting my first job and trying to do my best work. One thing I am glad about is that while I am working I wont have a part time job and taking 16 credits. Also, I will have 40 hours a week to get my work done. Even though making mistakes sometimes makes me feel embarrassed I just remember that everything is a learning experience and I can prevent it from happening again by learning from my mistakes!

One thought on “Learning from my internship

  1. Very true! I feel like not a lot of people, especially students, realize that there is no second chance for a due date in the real world. You can’t just turn in something after the due date and still get partial credit. Thankfully, when you made mistakes your supervisor was there to help you since it is your first experience in the real world, and it is only preparing you for a real job after school! Glad you’re enjoying it and I wish you the best!

    Like

Leave a comment