6 more weeks of winter.

After Punxsutawney Phil told us that there was 6 more weeks of winter I have been craving for spring. Last Sunday was beautiful with sunshine and the temperature being 70 degrees. Now, North Carolina weather is anything but stable. It could be 80 degrees one day and 15 degrees the next. But, the warm weather gets me excited to do spring activities such as bike riding, swimming, and hiking. Hiking is one of my favorite activities especially during the fall and the spring when the flowers and trees are beautiful.

In North Carolina there are tons of options for hiking.I personally have been to Hanging Rock State Park and Pilot Mountain. Hanging Rock State Park has a ton of trails, one of which actually goes down to a waterfall. On a warm day people like to swim in the waterfall or feel the breeze from it. This walk is on a very man-made path but it can be challenging. Some of the inclines at this park can be challenging but my personal opinion that almost anyone can take it! The views at the top are amazing and are worth the climb!

Most recently I went to Pilot Mountain. My friend and I decided to do the strenuous trail. This trail was man-made but it was very narrow and it definitely felt more like hiking. While we were walking there were rock climbers, who, I give a lot of credit to because I could never do that kind of thing. Below is a picture of me right off of the trail! Luckily this was on one of those nice Carolina winter days!

IMG_0208.JPG

Since I am so excited for the spring weather and to do more hiking I decided to research some other fun trails in North Carolina. According to Everytrail.com these are the top 10 rated hiking trails in North Carolina! This website tells you about the trails, how easy or hard they are, and the duration of a normal hike which I think is a nice feature!

1.Waterfall Tour of Hanging Rock State Park, N.C.

2.Blue Ridge Parkway to Grandfather Mountain summit

3.Summit trails at Pilot Mountain State Park, North Carolina

4.Stone Mountain Loop – Stone Mtn. State Park – N.C

5.Campbell Creek and Lanier Falls Trails

6. Uwharrie/Dutchman’s Creek Trail Loop

7.Harper Falls – Wilson Creek area

8.Little Creek Trail at Raven Rock State Park

9. Linville Falls-Erwin’s View Trail

10.High Falls and Triple Falls Tour – Dupont State Forest

This is only one of the things that is great to do during the Spring! But, I am always ready for a new adventure so I am interest in what kind of things do you like to do during the Spring?

One thought on “6 more weeks of winter.

  1. We’ve got to try to get more followers for your blog! The last three weeks were great with job search tips, High Point bucket list and top hiking trails in North Carolina. I’m going to have to check out this list when Blake gets older (they seem pretty tough for a 3-year old). In the meantime, if you know of any local easy hikes, I would love some ideas!

    Like

Leave a comment